The Moret Nuns Barley Sugar has been well-known and appreciated for more than 300 years, It was originally made by the Benedictine nuns who, in 1638, founded a house in Moret, under the name of the Priory of Our Lady of Angels.
This sweet, unique in its own way, was the delight of the most important people who carried of large quantities when the Court came to Moret.
After having prospered under Louis XIV and gone through a period of glory until 1758, the monastery when through a number of ups and downs and disappeared in 1792. Production also stopped during the Revolution and even the secret recipe seemed to have disappeared forever, washed away with the nuns by the revolutionary tide.
Luckily, after the bad days, a nun from the former Moret priory, Sister Felicity, came back with her secret to live in the Moret-sur-Loing region. Before dying, she confided the secret recipe to a faithful friend.